In my beautiful balloon

I had one of those days. You know them—the I’ve just met my worst nightmare in the dark alley of my psyche and there’s no place to hide days. I won’t describe it to you, because you’ve been there, and I don’t want to bring you back. Most people don’t need help being more cynical, and I am not about to teach a master class. In fact, I’m not planning to stay in this mood myself.

How will I crawl out? I’ve got my plans, and I’ve already started putting them into play. I read my e-mail, I checked my messages, I watched some pigeons. I felt my friends around me even as they are scattered across the country, involved in their own daily routines. On a day full of frustration, it helps to remember how interconnected I am with magical people. Just thinking about my loved ones brings on a hug from the universe. I am hugging you all back.

This girl needed a treat, so I stopped and bought a few used CDs. I knew that some new music would help more than an ice cream sundae I would later regret. My selections amused the man at the counter, too, which made me smile. He told me it’s the first time he’d ever rung up Kenny Chesney and Laurie Anderson in the same sale. Considering that one is a country star with a big hat and the other is a darling of the avant garde, it may just be. What can I say? I’ve got eclectic taste.

Now I’m home, and I’ve just spent ten minutes lavishing attention on my loving feline housemate. He’s in a good mood, and I think I’ve caught a little bit of his enthusiasm. The power of an orange tabby in vibrate mode should not be underestimated. The hot shower and soft pajamas didn’t hurt, either. I’m actually looking forward to the rest of my evening. Mission accomplished!

Your assignment, should you choose to accept it:

39. You have the power to change your own mood—you can either sink deeper into a bad one or put your fingers on the edge of the big black hole and climb towards the light. Next time you’re in a funk, try it. If you’re in a good mood, climb higher to a great one.

I'd love to hear what you have to say.

