And away we go

Tonight I’m going to another dance. I’ve actually been very good about my plan to dance more often so that I get less sore after I go. I still stiffen up a bit, but my joints are starting to realize that I am going to take them dancing, and they had best get used to it. I go at least once a week, and this week I plan to dance at least three times.

This evening’s expedition is an experimental foray into square dance. I haven’t done it since I was a kid, and it has mixed memories for me. I remember learning in gym class. The boys would swing the girls around as hard as possible, trying to launch one of us into a wall when they let go. It was more tolerable than the ever-present gymnastics. I liked it, and came to enjoy its yearly appearance in class.

I also remember Bugs Bunny calling a square dance where he instructs the yokels to hit each other on the head. I hope that won’t happen tonight—daily life can be enough of a clobbering. I don’t really know what to expect, as this is supposed to be modern Western square dancing. Apparently the forms are a bit different, and it can be danced to show tunes! Show tunes? I love show tunes, but somehow I just can’t picture Ethel Merman belting out Give My Regards to Broadway as we allemande left and right. I think I’ll have fun, but most of all, the concept intrigues me. The dance is for beginners, so they will teach me everything I need to know, and no ugly gingham skirt is required. I’m there.

I’m learning that line dancing isn’t only for country music either. I’ve been finding out more about it as I go out and try new forms. Most of us know the Electric Slide, which is done at weddings, but there are also swing and hip hop line dances. I love the idea of a large group of people all dancing the same pre-determined steps to a song. It reminds me of the old musicals where a production number would inexplicably spring up in the street. I like being part of such a spectacle. Cue the music!

Your assignment, should you choose to accept it:

57. Find something that intrigues you and check it out. Can you watch a class? Can you have a trial? Isn’t it time to try something new?

I'd love to hear what you have to say.

