Right there on the wall

I walked over to Cafe Ladro the other day for a cup of coffee to bring back to work. I looked up, and there was a sign from above—literally. The sign was part of an art display and it said something very important in big letters. The sign said LUCKY YOU. Wow. I was running back to work, so I didn’t get the artist’s name. I want to go back, because I want to know who to thank.

LUCKY YOU. Lucky me, indeed. I’m like most people, in that there are a number of things in my life that just aren’t perfection, and I’m working on adjusting that. I do not yet have the ideal job, and I’d like to be more fit. These are goals I’m working towards. While I struggle with these daily issues it’s nice to have a little reminder of those things I do have to be grateful for. The list is long. I have the best friends, and I’ve been going dancing. I live with a marvelous cat. Apparently the universe loves me, too, because I rode the bus this morning holding my phone number, and my missed connection from yesterday was riding again. We were both so happy to see each other, and we’re going to meet for coffee soon. The sun is shining, and the only clouds in the sky are those fluffy, friendly-looking ones. I am so lucky I don’t have enough words to describe it.

Sometimes I get so bogged down in details that I forget to look up and appreciate things. I’m going to make my own little sign for my bedroom. I want to remember. It’s only polite to give thanks. That cup of coffee was a bigger pick-me-up than the caffeine it contained.

Seattle is considerate to me. She posts these little signs in my path, much like people put love notes in their partner’s lunch bags. When I was too busy with life worries to work on my novel, Seattle reminded me by leaving little stickers all over bridges and telephone poles that said “Daphne” in Gothic lettering. Daphne is the name of my main character. I appreciated the hint, and I made some time for my writing. It’s nice that the universe reminds me to put joy first. I thank her.

Your assignment, should you choose to accept it:

59. Make your own LUCKY YOU sign, and place it somewhere where you will occasionally look up and see it. Why are you lucky? Make a list.

I'd love to hear what you have to say.

