Who needs a shovel?

Today I am thinking back to college, to an archaeology class I took. Our final assignment was to treat a dorm room the same way an archaeologist would treat a dig site. We had to grid the room in squares, and list every object in each square, describing its details. This came to mind because I noticed a little sign on a business I walk past every day. It said: “Are you ready for Spring?” I am, little sign, I am. I knew the answer to the question but I wasn’t sure how long the sign has been there. What else haven’t I noticed?

 

I’m planning to spend some time this weekend exploring my neighborhood. I think I’ll start with the area right in front of my apartment building. I’d like to try to catch a glimpse of those birds that are right outside my window every morning. I want to know what they are. I know they sing sweetly, they are small, and there are a lot of them. If I stand still for a few moments I might just be able to see one in all its glory. I bet my cat could describe their every feather—he watches them all day long.

It’s harder to diagram a dynamic environment than a dorm room. Things in my neighborhood are moving all the time. The seagulls shift around, the beggars on the corners change spots. I can only see what’s there in the moment I look. That would still tell me a lot. That’s one of the reasons I like to draw. Drawing something forces me to consider all the specifics. I know how the African masks at the art museum are attached to the wearer’s head. I’ve had to sketch those details in. I know how the piano lid is hinged and the way that the marquee bends in front of the theater across the street. Once I’ve seen those details, I tend to remember them. This helps my writing, and it also helps me to understand my universe. I never know what will inspire me, and the more I look, the more I find. There are myriad treasures to unearth and it’s time to dig in.

Your assignment, should you choose to accept it:

65. Explore a small area in detail. Try to catalogue it, to notice its every nuance. Did you learn something? Were you surprised in some way?

I'd love to hear what you have to say.

