Have a cupcake

Today is my best friend’s birthday, and I wish I could be in North Carolina to celebrate with her. I know she’ll be having a great time, though. She usually does. That’s one of the many things I love about her.

Friends are one of the greatest joys in life, and friendships are one of the best learning experiences. My friendships have taught me that I’m a far better and more interesting person than I thought I was. They’ve also taught me how annoying I can be. Friends can more easily point out behaviors that might not suit a person to her best advantage without hurting feelings.

My friends have taught me how to maintain relationships, how to negotiate conflicts and how to celebrate milestones. They’ve introduced me to new music, new writers and new ideas. They’ve challenged my opinions. We’ve debated issues so that I understand where I stand more clearly. They are my advice and my support, and I am theirs. My friends help me to take risks and to grow as a person.

I look to my friends as role models. It’s great to know that there are companions to help you as you travel your path in this life. I can turn to my pals when I have a sticky situation, and often someone will have been through the very same thing. I don’t have to reinvent the wheel, and I can benefit from each person’s strengths and weaknesses. I have friends who are more assertive than I am, and I’m learning their ways. I’ve learned how to be more graceful from others. I’ve also learned about the ways I’m perceived in the world. One friend recently told me he likes me because I have a very hearty personality. Who knew? I guess he did.

I’ve learned more from Laurie than I could put in a blog entry, but we’ll be friends to the end, and I consider myself a very lucky person. We’ve both come so far since we met, and I know that our association has a lot to do with that. As she celebrates today, I want to send her a wish for many more joyful years. That’ll help everyone else, too, as she shares her positive energy wherever she goes. Happy birthday, Laurie! and Happy Earth Day to all!

Your assignment, should you choose to accept it:

84. Spend some time with a friend today, whether in person or on the phone. Isn’t your friend amazing? Take a little time to appreciate the joys you share as people.

I'd love to hear what you have to say.

