Mixing it up

Special Note: My blog is veering from its usual format for a few days as I take time to attend the Emerald City Hoedown, a three day celebration of country music and dancing. I’m going to be really busy dancing and socializing—it’s like a mini-vacation right here in Seattle. Yay! Pigeons will return to its usual format on Tuesday, April 29th. In the meantime, I hope you enjoy the change of pace.

I don’t read very many blogs, although I am busily at work creating my own. There are many reasons for this, chief among them that I’m too busy doing other things. The world is too marvelous a place to spend all one’s time staring at a computer screen. While I’m off dancing, I thought I’d share with you some of the blogs I do find particularly wonderful.

Today I’d like to recommend Winter in Asheville. It’s written by my best friend, Laurel Winter, who is an excellent writer and artist. Her blog features some of her lovely artwork and photos as well as joyful essays on what she’s doing with her time. It’s a fun and uplifting read. Best of all, Laurie includes an ongoing list of things to do instead of reading blogs. Enjoy this excerpt here, and follow the link to the rest!

How the cello acquired me  (from Winter in Asheville by Laurel Winter)

What a week it has been since last I posted. Humming & sparkly & chocolaty good. GeeWhizBang & all that. I’d take it apart & give you all the details, but then it might stop working. (Who am I kidding? That’s just an excuse to give you the highlights & get on to the rest of the beauty of the here & now.)  Continued at  http://laurelwinter.blogspot.com/2008/03/how-cello-acquired-me.html

Tomorrow I’ll tell you all about Quizno’s, dentists and sheep. Stay tuned!

Your assignment, should you choose to accept it:

88. Read the rest of the blog post above, and maybe enjoy some others. Did you ever play a musical instrument? Tell someone that story.

I'd love to hear what you have to say.

