Don’t mess with his dad

Special Note: My blog is veering from its usual format for a few days as I take time to attend the Emerald City Hoedown, a three day celebration of country music and dancing. I’m going to be really busy dancing and socializing—it’s like a mini-vacation right here in Seattle. Yay! Pigeons will return to its usual format on Tuesday, April 29th. In the meantime, I hope you enjoy the change of pace.

As I told you yesterday, I’m going to recommend a few blogs I particularly love while I’m off doing the Boot Scoot Boogie. Today’s installment makes me laugh. I originally found this blog because it was recommended in our local alternative weekly, The Stranger. That paper has a feature called New Column, which advertises a new column that is starting by excerpting the one and only instance of that column that will ever exist. This blog was featured there, and I thought they were kidding.

They weren’t. I got hooked on Jesus Christ’s Really Cool Blog. I respect all religions, but this thing is just hilarious. Although I’m now a Buddhist, I grew up Catholic, so I find it particularly entertaining. Unfortunately Jesus decided to retire his pen, but not before he posted many months of his own personal soap opera. It’s best to read this one in order, so go back to the earliest post and read forward from there. You may be just as disappointed at the end as I was.

Here is an excerpt for you:

Easter Weekend: Whoop-eee. (from Jesus Christ’s Really Cool Blog, by Jesus Christ)

So Easter is this Sunday, and I’m pretty bummed. People are always telling me, “This is your day, dude! Cheer up! You’re all ‘resurrected’ and shit.” That’s easy for them to say. It’s like telling someone who was physically assaulted, “Are you still upset about that? It’s been THREE DAYS.”
Anyway, that’s why I started the whole Easter bunny thing. To get the focus off ME. Of course that didn’t work all that great either, because people always say, “Dude! Why is a rabbit delivering eggs? It doesn’t make any sense!” I know it doesn’t make any sense — that’s why it’s funny!  Continued at http://jesuschristscoolblog.blogspot.com/2007_04_01_archive.html

 

Tomorrow, in the last day of my vacation format, I’ll send you into a fabulously-appointed deep dark hole of design. How amazing it is! Get ready!

Your assignment, should you choose to accept it:

89. What do you think of Jesus Christ’s blog? Is it funny to you or not? Why?

I'd love to hear what you have to say.

