I envy the snail

This weekend I expect to be surrounded by cardboard. I’m moving at the end of June, although I don’t yet know exactly where. I have to wait for things to become available, and I have to draw up a budget so I know how much of a deposit I’ll be able to scrape up. A lot of things are not within my control. Packing is not one of those things.

I can start packing now, and I plan to do so. I don’t have a lot of free time, and as the time gets closer I’ll be using that time to tour apartments and deal with whatever life throws my way. I don’t want to have to pack everything in the middle of that chaos. Of course, I can’t pack everything right now. My housemates are using the kitchen supplies, so those will have to wait for the last boxes. I’ll need something to wear while I wait, and certain things I use too frequently to be able to exile to temporary storage. Everything else can go into the boxes. I’ll try to leave the clutter behind.

I used to be a procrastinator, but I’ve gotten a lot better. The packing will have to be done eventually, and if I wait until the last minute it’s only going to make me more stressed out. I only have a certain amount of energy available in any one week, and I don’t want to tax myself to the limit too many weeks in a row. That’s how I get sick, and I don’t need the stress of that, either.

I also don’t want my move to interfere too much with my dancing. I can’t help the fact that my apartment is being converted into luxury units—I have to move. I don’t have to let it put my life on hold for two months. When I moved last year, I was basically ready two weeks ahead of time. It felt so much nicer than other moves—I wasn’t up all night the evening before, desperate to get things done. I even had time to relax. I’m hoping to beat my record, and be ready three weeks before. I know I can do it, and it will be worth the effort. If I can just find somewhere to move to, I’ll be all set.

Your assignment, should you choose to accept it:

95. What have you been putting off? Can you make one tiny little step toward that task’s completion? Do you feel any better?

I'd love to hear what you have to say.

