I can walk to everything

Apartment hunting is a love/hate thing for me. I adore architecture, and I’m naturally curious, so I love to see inside all the places. I’m interested in the different configurations that exist, and all the odd little extras that a place can have. During my last round of looking I went to a building that had a toaster which tucked into the wall when you were done using it. That seemed like a fire hazard to me, but I love the idea of one less appliance on my countertop. I’ve seen giant holes in kitchens, closets so small that they’d only fit three outfits, and wallpaper so shiny you could see yourself in it.

I also found a place. It’s funny, because while I was standing outside the building waiting to meet the manager I started to dismiss the apartment. The outside of the building was an undistinguished brick box. The windows did not appear very large, and I decided right then and there that the inside was probably intolerable. When I went inside I changed my mind. I’m moving into a turn-of-the-century apartment building. The stairways have lovely woodwork, and I loved the apartment. The walls are exposed brick, and the bedroom and living room are connected by pocket doors. The windows are bigger than they look from the sidewalk, and the bathroom hides a clawfoot tub. I’m looking forward to soaking in it.

The kitchen is quite a bit bigger than those in most newer apartments, probably because it was built before the era of so much fast food. I love the built-in storage. I really should know better than to prejudge a place! I’ve still got a lot of work to do before I can actually make the move, but I’m getting excited about my new space. The neighborhood is better for me, and I’ll be really close to where I go dancing. I’m relieved that my search is over, and I see the new apartment as a prize I’ll earn once I’ve gotten all the work of moving done. I can’t wait!

Your assignment, should you choose to accept it:

109. Although change is a lot of hard work, it can also be a lot of fun. Bring some new energy to the space where you live by rearranging the furniture or doing something different. How does that feel?

2 thoughts on “I can walk to everything

  1. If you don’t mind me asking, how much is this apartment? I am planning to move to Seattle after school and am trying to gauge rentals for 1 bedrooms and studios.

I'd love to hear what you have to say.

