Whole lotta packing going on

I had a busy holiday weekend. I didn’t barbecue; I didn’t go to the beach; I didn’t travel. I didn’t even blog. I packed for my move. I didn’t get it all done, but I made a significant dent in it, and I rewarded myself with some time off for good behavior. I watched videos with my friend and we ate Mexican food. Yum.

The weekend was warm and sunny, so it was a great weather for me to stay inside. I prefer the slight chill of the damp, drizzly days to the rays of everyone’s favorite natural light bulb. It was a perfect time to be inside putting things in boxes. Most of the people in my building are moving out, too, so there were several U-Hauls outside to remind me to keep to task. It also reminded me that I’m not the only one having to do all this work.

I listened to a lot of good music while I worked, and I tried to keep things as enjoyable as possible. It was still a big effort, but I’m really looking forward to my new apartment. I miss my old neighborhood, and it’s great to be moving back there. All this work will be worth it when I’m finally settled in the new digs. I’m trying to keep that in mind as I struggle with the mess that packing creates.

I’m also using my resources. I’m a fairly positive person, but it’s hard to stay happy when you’re sitting in the middle of a great big pile of boxes. My friends cheered me up. It helps to know that I won’t be carting the boxes by myself, and it’s good to be dragged out of the house for a while when I’m starting to get overwhelmed. Otherwise, I might just have to crawl under the bed and not come out. There’s not a lot of room under there, so it’s not a very practical plan. I think my new apartment will be more spacious than the slot under my futon, so I guess I’ll keep getting ready to move. Now I’ve just got to get there.

Your assignment, should you choose to accept it:

112. Do you have a difficult task to get done? Ask your friends for moral support, and don’t feel guilty about it. I’m sure they’d be glad to help. Wouldn’t you do it for them?

I'd love to hear what you have to say.

