Shout it from the rooftops

I didn’t get anything done last night. I’d planned to have a quick dinner, read a few chapters from my current book and then work on packing for a few hours. Instead, I ate dinner, started reading, and fell asleep. When I awoke in the middle of the night I set my alarms and went back to bed.

It was just the rest I needed, and I feel refreshed today. I know that I’ll have time tonight to work on my tasks. I had three other places to be last night and similar opportunities for this evening, but I’m not going to any of those engagements. I would have, but a few years ago I learned a magical word. I’m going to teach it to you right now, and then you can spread the gospel for me. The word is “no” and it’s right up there with “please” as one of the most useful words in the English language.

I would have had fun doing those other things, but not as much fun as I had taking that nap. I used to automatically agree to go to parties and social meetings. I’d always volunteer to help out at things, and I added obligations to my calendar at a breakneck pace. “No” saved my sanity. Now I have some time in my schedule to take care of things that need to be done. I also need to have days where I can do absolutely nothing so that I don’t get overwhelmed.

There is a helpful concept that I learned from the teachings of Abraham, as recorded by Esther and Jerry Hicks. The philosophy states that if you are considering doing something and you can’t answer “Hell yes!” to the possibility then you should answer “Hell no!”  This little test serves me well when I remember to implement it. There are some things that must be done, regardless of the joy involved—I’d rather be elsewhere than at work, for example—but most things I’m considering can be decided by this one question. Once I’ve know whether I really want or need to do something, than I can use my magical “no” and my happily-granted “yes” to best effect. The nap last night was definitely a “Hell yes!” I feel relaxed and raring to go.

Your assignment, should you choose to accept it:

113. What do you have coming up on your calendar? Apply the scheduling test to it and see what you can remove.

I'd love to hear what you have to say.

