Emulate your cat

I had the best lunch break yesterday, and I wanted to share it with you. I’ve been really busy lately, getting ready to move and doing tons of errands. During lunch I sometimes try to get more items knocked off my chore list. Other days I like to read. Yesterday I did neither. Yesterday I brought a sandwich for lunch, and ate it while I worked. This freed up my lunch time for something really wonderful—a nap.

The building I work in has a large lounge with sofas and I took my rest there. If that hadn’t been available I would have stayed at my desk. It’s amazing how refreshing even twenty minutes of sleep can be when you are tired. I got about forty-five yesterday, and it changed my outlook for the day. Some workplaces, like Amazon, even offer sleeping areas for their employees. I think more employers should consider this healthy practice. I think it would raise morale.

In a perfect world I wouldn’t have needed that nap, because I would have been well-rested already. Mine is not a perfect world, and I doubt that yours is, either. I try to get at least eight hours of sleep a night, but this is one area in which I need to do better. I’m a night person who has to be in to work early—I find it very difficult to fall asleep at ten o’clock when I should be in bed. Many nights I go to bed and lie awake for hours.

I’m working towards the day when my job will suit my natural rhythms better, but until that time I’m going to grab a few naps a week. It really helps me. Naps are also better than caffeine, because I don’t feel all strung out after a nap the way I do when I have too much coffee. I quit caffeine a while back, and when I do sleep I find it more restful than before. I also find that I’m more alert than I was when I needed caffeine to give a sudden jolt to my system. Your experience may vary from mine, but I encourage you to experiment. How will you know unless you try?

Your assignment, should you choose to accept it:

123. Are you feeling tired? Take a short nap. Did it refresh you?

I'd love to hear what you have to say.

