The pause that refreshes

Have you ever had a really bad cold, and when you recover you suddenly fully understand how joyful it is to be well? That’s what I feel like right now. I haven’t been sick—I’ve been busy getting ready to move. Everything is done now but the last minute details and I am suddenly able to relax. It feels tangible, like a holiday spent at home in the state of free time.

I started my sojourn into relaxation on Tuesday. I’ve been going to bed early and actually getting enough sleep. It feels good, and I’ll need the energy for the actual move. I’m going to a burlesque show with my friend, and the luxury of it feels good. The universe also gave me an early birthday present. I went to an Expo at the convention center last weekend, and I entered lots of drawings. I won a spa package. I’ve always wanted to get spa treatments as a birthday gift, so I appreciate the universe for thinking of me. I’m going to try to go the weekend after I move—it’ll be the perfect indulgence for a task well done.

I’ve been taking little relaxation breaks during the whole process, and I’ve been going dancing, but it’s nice to know that I don’t have to fit any extra work in after work this week. I’m looking forward to the unpacking process, because that always seems to be a lot easier. The excitement of a new place will help to carry me through all of those tasks.

This also reminds me to appreciate other joys I’m experiencing right this moment. I’m not sick, and I haven’t been sick for a good long time. I live in a city that I adore, and I have the greatest friends a person could ask for. Tonight I’m going to celebrate the simple things. Raise your glasses for a toast, and join along with me.

Your assignment, should you choose to accept it:

134. Stress is so insistent on being noticed that we often forget to pay attention to the things that aren’t going wrong. Take some time today to remember what is going well in your life. Are you healthy? Do you have a great family, a cozy home? What is going right? Share your happiness with someone else if you can. Tales of woe get told all the time. It’s great to be able to share some positive experiences.

I'd love to hear what you have to say.

