I am who I am

Today’s blog is being brought to you by the pink triangle, the rainbow sign and the letter “Q”. This weekend is Gay Pride in Seattle, celebrated on different dates in different places but often near the very end of June to remember the Stonewall riots, a landmark in the gay civil rights movement.

I write Yay! Pigeons to focus on joy, not on politics, so I’m going to address Gay Pride from that angle, too. It gives me great joy to see committed loving couples who live in the state of California being able to celebrate their relationships by getting married. I celebrate the parade that’s going to go right through the center of downtown, acknowledging the diversity and presence of queers in this city. It gives me a sense of satisfaction that the cultural contributions of the LGBT community are being honored during this month.

I love living in Seattle, and part of that is the thriving gay community we have here. I want to single out one joyful organization for mention. I really like the Sisters of Perpetual Indulgence, the Abbey of Saint Joan. If you aren’t familiar with the sisters you might want to check out some of the links I’m including. The sisters are a global organization who raise funds for charity and provide community education and outreach. They do this while dressed in festive nun drag, which makes them controversial. As a devout seeker of joy, I love them for their mission statement: “We are an order of 21st Century nuns dedicated to the promulgation of universal joy and the expiation of stigmatic guilt.” That’s truly a mission I can get behind.

Some gay people don’t like the inclusion of groups like this in the parades and festivals because they believe it reflects poorly on our community. I disagree—I am proud to be part of a community that has so many members who are willing to express themselves in all of their individual and creative glory. Members like the Sisters also help to support the community as a whole. I will cheer for them as they walk on by. Yay Sisters! Happy Pride, everyone.

Your assignment, should you choose to accept it:

135. Take time today to celebrate the unique and marvelous creature that is you—gay or straight, nerdy or hip, skinny or fat. Be proud of whoever you are, and rejoice in it.

Links, should you desire them:

About the Stonewall riots: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stonewall

About the Sisters: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sisters_of_Perpetual_Indulgence

About the Sisters, by the Sisters: http://www.theabbey.org/about/about.html

2 thoughts on “I am who I am

I'd love to hear what you have to say.

