I’m back

It’s been a pretty interesting week here, and I’m finally starting to establish a little bit of stability amidst the chaos. I’ve submitted a whole bunch of job applications, and I had a job interview on Monday. I’m looking forward to the follow-up interview tomorrow.

My apartment is a network of little pathways in between the moving boxes, but I’ve started to open the boxes and put things away. Unpacking always seems to be so much easier than putting things in the boxes in the first place, and it’s nice to have the most physical of the moving tasks done. I moved amidst a rare ninety-degree heat in Seattle, and there were two flights of stairs between the moving truck and my apartment door. The building doesn’t have air-conditioning.

The move was very tough, but it was also very touching. I am deeply thankful to have friends who are willing to help me in such difficult circumstances. Amazingly enough they are both still speaking to me after the day from Hell that we shared. I feel truly blessed.

I’m really enjoying all the possibilities of my new situation—there are so many different options for the layout of my new apartment, and I can arrange things however I like. There are also so many different options for new jobs. In some ways it’s nice to be in the middle of a cosmic rearrangement. Of course I could have rearranged things before this, but it’s easier sometimes to go along with the current when your job is meeting some of the basic requirements for providing food and shelter.

I’ve been exploring all sorts of different options as part of this process, and one of the pathways open to me is that of retraining. I could take some college courses and become certified for a different type of work than I’m currently doing. I considered it, but I don’t want all the energy I put towards writing and creative pursuits to go towards my day job, especially when the available programs do not help me with the skills I am truly interested in. I’ve been led down that road before, and that’s why I’m now overeducated and underemployed. I’d like to make different mistakes this time around—it keeps life interesting. In the meantime I’m going to try to enjoy the possibilities of the chaos.

Your assignment, should you choose to accept it:

138. Are situations arising in your life that you have tackled before? Try a different approach this time and see what happens. Enjoy the possibilities inherent in the challenges you are facing.

I'd love to hear what you have to say.

