With lots of windows

I’m enjoying my new apartment. There are still lots of boxes to tunnel through, but the bones of the place are stunning. I’ve got exposed brick walls, high ceilings, and fancy molding. I’ve got pocket doors and a claw foot tub. The guy who looked at the apartment before I did was upset that it wasn’t more modern. Did I mention the claw foot tub?

I’ve been spending a lot of time in that tub since I moved in. There’s something so simple yet so luxurious about sitting in soapy scented water and just allowing the world to pass by. I love to relax in water of all variations. A long hot shower can steam my troubles away, and I like to wade in swimming pools. As much as I love water I’ve never learned to swim. I plan to remedy that someday.

I have also been luxuriating in my solitude. I most recently shared an apartment with two housemates. That was a fun arrangement and I enjoyed many aspects of it. I’m also glad to have my quiet time back and a little more control over my surroundings. I get a little thrill when I realize that I alone will decide where to place the plates and mugs. I’ve spent a lot of my adult life in shared living situations, so these minor freedoms seem very decadent. I’m thoroughly enjoying each small liberty.

While I unpack I’m also taking the time to get to know my apartment. Each place I’ve lived has had a different character to it, and I find that I therefore live differently in them. This place has plaster walls that cannot tolerate nails well, so I’ll be hanging fewer pictures. I may find another way to display my treasures or I may leave things blank for a while. I’m still deciding how to bring this space to its highest potential.

I also believe that a relationship with an apartment is like any other relationship—while I work to arrange the space to suit my desires the space will slowly be affecting my own perceptions and lifestyle. I can’t wait to see what new fun this apartment will bring my way.

Your assignment, should you choose to accept it:

139. How do you interact with your living space and the people in it? Consider this while enjoying one of your own small luxuries.

I'd love to hear what you have to say.

