And away we go

On weekends I like to do things a little differently. Enjoy!

I first started square dancing again when I first got to try it at a promotional event. This was my first experience with it since childhood. People react a bit strangely when you tell them you do square dancing, and it strikes me that there’s something very subversive about participating in something that is perceived as the opposite of cool. As I once told my friend’s teenager, I think it’s cool to be yourself and do what makes you happy regardless of what others think. I mention this because our local group is once again hosting these promotional events, called A Taste of Square Dancing. If you happen to be in Seattle, it’s a fun free night of dancing, a chance to do something completely different, and an opportunity to experience this somewhat guilty pleasure.

The Tastes will be held on August 21st and August 28th at St. Andrew’s Episcopal Church in Greenlake from 7-9 p.m. St. Andrews is at 111 NE 80th Street, and is easily accessible by bus as well as car. You can follow this link to more details. http://www.iagsdc.org/puddletown/taste.php

See you tomorrow!

I'd love to hear what you have to say.

