Coffee-infused quacks all around

Seattle is an attractive city that it is also a tourist attraction, and we have many visitors during the summer. These visitors enjoy taking bus tours of all kinds, and the streets are crowded with such vehicles. We’ve got the little Show Me Seattle vans, we’ve got big red double-decker buses, and we’ve got the Ducks.

Perhaps your city has Ducks, too. Many cities do. Huge ads here advise us to Ride the Ducks. The Ducks in question are combination land and amphibious vehicles left over from World War II. I’m told the U.S. Army stormed the beaches at Normandy in something similar. It’s pleasant that the vehicles now serve a more benign purpose, ferrying tourists around town.

You can’t miss these things, because these boat-like creations drive through the streets playing loud disco music. Sometimes they rock back and forth to the beat, and the drivers are making loud announcements about the attractions as they pass. The Ducks are festive, and you’ll often hear quacking from the bright yellow whistles they sell. The quacking is less than festive, but it all adds to the passing party.

I took one of these tours when my friend and I had visiting company. Our friend wanted to go, and we acquiesced. It was a lot of fun. You cannot ride in a Duck without giving in to the silliness. It simply cannot be done, and it was enjoyable to join the traveling merriment. The best part of the ride was the time we spent on the lake, cruising by houseboats and floating mansions. Since I don’t generally go out on boats, the Duck gave me a different perspective on my city.

I’ve also taken some of the other tours. When I first moved to Seattle I took the Show Me Seattle tour, and it was a great introduction to some of the local sites. It also helped me to get my bearings in my new city. I’d also recommend The Underground Tour. I’ll tell you more about that another time. I think that tourist guides and activities are a great way to get to know the place where you live, and I want to know as much about this city as I can. Seattle fascinates me, and I can’t wait to learn even more about her.

Your assignment, should you choose to accept it:

159. Seek out some tourist activities where you live. How do these change your perspective on your town? If you have a chance to get out on some body of water, I’d particularly recommend the experience.

Links, should you desire them:

http://www.ridetheducksofseattle.com/

http://www.undergroundtour.com/

http://www.showmeseattle.com/

I'd love to hear what you have to say.

