Song song new

I love music, but I’m not one of those people who follow the latest trends on popular bands. Seattle is one of the best places to do that if you do happen to be such a person, but it seems like it must be a full-time job. I have so many interests that I tend to learn about the music I like in a more serendipitous manner. I go out dancing regularly, so I often hear new songs while I am out. If I cannot figure out what they are, I ask the deejays. One recent discovery is the song Black Velvet by Alannah Myles. It’s full of sultry goodness.

I also rely on friends. My friend Gary introduced me to local Seattle “It” band of the moment, The Fleet Foxes. They play a relaxing quasi-Celtic mix. I like them. I don’t listen to much broadcast music, because when I have the radio on I am usually listening to National Public Radio news and entertainment programming. There’s some music coverage, but they don’t play a lot. Instead I listen to music on the internet. There’s a wonderful invention called Pandora.com. Pandora is a website that you can sign up on for free, and it uses a program to figure out music you like. I have an Alan Jackson station and a Lyle Lovett station that I mix to make a cheerful brand of country music. The best thing about Pandora is that you can choose which songs reappear. If you don’t like a song, you give it a thumbs-down rating, and it never plays again. That’s why I prefer it to commercial radio. In addition, all the ads are visual, so they don’t interrupt the music. I’ve found many new songs and artists to adore on Pandora.

I also find new music to enjoy when I watch movies. I loved the movie Juno (Jason Reitman, 2007), and part of what attracted me to it was its quirky soundtrack. It featured bands I’ve heard of but not listened to, like The Moldy Peaches. The music is fun, bizarre, silly, and very joyful. I was hooked. I may not spend a lot of time keeping up on music, but I find that plenty of new songs come my way and delight me even still. I know that new songs will find me, and meanwhile I’ll keep my focus on other things. It seems to work.

Your assignment, should you choose to accept it:

160. How do you find new music to enjoy? Explore some music from a soundtrack, or perhaps check out Pandora.com. A new favorite may be just around the corner.

I'd love to hear what you have to say.

