Superior to Rhapsody in Paisley

On weekends I like to do things a little differently. Enjoy!

Sometimes when I want to relax I listen to Rhapsody in Blue, the partly classical George Gershwin composition. I’ve always loved it, although new meanings have been attached to it over the years. I used to watch the news program This Week with David Brinkley, and one of their sponsors was General Electric. GE played a piece of Rhapsody in Blue on their commercial. Now I think of light bulbs whenever I hear a certain section of the music. I also think of the fabulous urban cartoon that was done to the piece in the second version of the Disney movie Fantasia (1999). I love the first version of that movie, done in 1940, and the new version adds new music. The cartoon that illustrates Rhapsody in Blue is set in New York City, and it only adds to my appreciation of the piece. You probably know this music, even if you don’t know its name. If you’re looking for some music to relax to, I highly recommend it (and both versions of Fantasia).

See you tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “Superior to Rhapsody in Paisley

  1. Hearing Rhapsody in Blue always reminds me of United Airlines–that shot of the airplane as the camera travels around the tail.

    I haven’t seen Fantasia in ages, but it sounds like it would be worth it to watch it again.

    Great blog. Cheers.

  2. I’d forgotten about the airline commercial, but now that you mention it, that’s another use of the music.

    Fantasia is definitely worth multiple viewings.

I'd love to hear what you have to say.

