They did it their way

I’m tired this morning, but only because I had so much fun last night. I met a friend for a drink and we decided to meander on to a local karaoke bar. We were there to watch and listen.

It was enlightening, as always. You haven’t truly lived until you’ve seen a male hipster in a tiny little fedora belting out Helen Reddy’s classic anthem of female power. My friend and I sat entranced as the singer gave all his energy to the line I am woman, hear me roar…. I did karaoke once, and I might do it again. I’m not averse to singing, but sometimes it’s just fun to watch.

Another singer, a drunk blonde in a tiny red dress, squirmed and jiggled every time she sang. All the better to show off her tattoos, I figure. She sang a rousing rendition of The Beer Barrel Polka, although she’d apparently never heard the song before. She did not know the tune at all, and she made up words as she went along. It was enchanting, in an odd sort of way. She termed this feat “karaoke suicide.” She wasn’t the only one to mention this term, either. Another suicide was a fellow who didn’t feel he could handle a song, but decided to sing it anyway.

Others sang badly-mangled versions of Frank Sinatra and Prince with nary a disclaimer. I particularly enjoyed a rendition of Elvis’ song Hunk of Burning Love, and the king’s music was well-represented through the evening. Amidst the vocal terrors were several singers who were quite good.

It doesn’t really matter to me if the people can sing. I admire their chutzpah, the fact that they are having a good time. The crowd applauds even the wretched, and I admire that, too. The tiny little karaoke bar where we sat reminds me of someone’s rec room, with everyone there just to relax. It’s very communal. Around midnight one of the bartenders brought everyone bright pink shots. I asked him why he’d done this, and he said he was bored. It was a fun little surprise. So was the karaoke bar. I plan to go back soon.

Your assignment, should you choose to accept it:

170. Have you ever done karaoke? Why not give it a try? Or perhaps you’d have more fun as a spectator—it’s a cheap night of entertainment, and a good time can be had by all. Enjoy.

I'd love to hear what you have to say.

