Quietly gushing about gazpacho

I seem to be losing my voice today, so I’m glad for the silent nature of typing. Something seems to be going around, and the germs have started to hit me full force. I am suddenly craving soup.

I absolutely adore soup, and it’s one of those things I find incredibly comforting. When I don’t feel well, I want soup, tea, and a cozy blanket. Those essential luxuries can cure a lot of what ails a person, or at least make life a bit nicer during the rough spots.

I don’t generally use a recipe for the soups I make. I have done so, and my cookbooks have yielded some excellent and tasty broths, but I find I do just fine tossing things into a pot and adjusting as I go. Soup is marvelous for absorbing whatever happens to be fresh at the market, and I like to throw a small handful of an interesting grain into the broth. Kasha, oatmeal, and millet all make excellent additions, as long as you keep the handful small. I’ve learned my lesson over the years—too many ingredients make a soup that turns into pilaf by the next day. Even those experiments were never a complete loss—I’ve made some yummy pilafs in this manner. I love the element of surprise that this cooking method adds to the mix. My soups are usually very tasty, but they vary subtly with each batch. My taste buds are never bored.

Homemade soup makes me feel more domestic, too. It’s not hard to make, but it makes me feel like I’ve really cooked something. No matter how simple a soup is, I always feel like I’m really nurturing myself with its brothy goodness. That’s a nice contrast, as I often just throw something together quickly for a meal. Soup makes me feel like I am worth the effort it takes to make myself something yummy. If I’m feeling ambitious, I make up a pan of cornbread, too. Cornbread is inexpensive, easy to make, and it tastes fantastic. I’ll probably make both today, and sip my way back to optimum health. It’s the least I can do for myself.

Your assignment, should you choose to accept it:

171. What makes you feel nurtured and taken care of? Take the time to do one of these things for yourself today. After all, you’re worth it.

I'd love to hear what you have to say.

