See Sir Ian Holm in drag

On weekends I like to do things a little differently. Enjoy!

I watched a delightful little film the other day. I’m borrowing DVDs from the library, and the randomness of the selection has brought some movies to my attention that I had not noticed before. My latest find was The Last of the Blonde Bombshells (Gillies MacKinnon, 2000). This fun movie is about an older woman who suddenly decides to reunite the band she played in during World War II.

I love that era, and the music, so I knew I would find something good in the movie. I also found it quite funny. Dame Judi Dench returns to a role she’s played many times, that of a feisty old dame. I could watch her be feisty for hours. Olympia Dukakis reminds me here of her role in Moonstruck (Norman Jewison, 1987), one of my favorite movies.

There are too many stars to list them all, although in the end, the names don’t matter. I really enjoyed this film, and you might, too.

See you tomorrow!

I'd love to hear what you have to say.

