A snuggle between the covers

On weekends I like to do things a little differently. Enjoy!

Today I thought I’d share some of what I’ve been reading in the last week or so, with very brief comments. Something may spark your interest. I know I’m always looking for good things to read, and a lot of these I picked up on displays at the library.

We Are All Fine Here by Mary Guterson, 2005. This was a fun little mid-life crisis novel. I really enjoyed the writing style, and I’d love to have coffee with the author sometime. The book was a scream.

there’s a (slight) chance I might be going to hell: a novel of sewer pipes, pageant queens, and big trouble by Laurie Notaro, 2007. Nothing is capitalized in the title, so I kept that convention here. This book was so much fun that I’ve put myself on the waiting list for all of her other work. It’s got a quirky bizarreness that reminds me a little bit of a Scooby-Doo episode (without the annoying voices). Loved it.

Chicken Feed by Alma Fridley, 1998. Fun British mystery with a lesbian theme. Enjoyable fluff.

The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole, aged 13 ¾ by Sue Townsend, 1982. I read this when it first came out, and I’ve read every sequel. I was very excited to see it again in the library, and loved it just as much the second time around. It’s poignant and funny as all hell. Absolute joy for anyone teenage years and up.

Queer Street (2004) and Sayonoraville (2003) by Curt Colbert. Loved these novels, which are old-fashioned style private-eye novels set in 1940s Seattle. They are just the kind of thing that I love to read, and would love to write. They reminded me a lot of the old Dell map back paperback novels. I can’t wait to read other works of his.

See you tomorrow!

I'd love to hear what you have to say.

