The muse on Metro

I met a most unusual lady on the number 10. She as wearing zebra-striped glasses and a swooped zebra print hat. I’d never seen anything like it. She said she’d made it herself, and I think she probably gets a lot of hat orders by showcasing her wares as she travels around town.

She was also wearing the most delightful turquoise arm warmers. When I complimented those she demonstrated how she’d fashioned them from knee-hi socks. We had the nicest conversation, and I applaud her for flaunting her own personal style. Too many people try to blend in when they’d rather be sporting something more exotic.

It’s hard to count years on a woman with such a vibrant personality, but her hair was gray and her skin showed some signs of aging. She told me that she was finally becoming her own person after years of feeling like she had to fit in. I’m glad she gave up on that losing game.

I’d tell you her name and advertise her business, but that might violate her privacy. You’ll have to meet her in your own travels. Even her business cards were non-standard.

Her confessions about gaining sartorial confidence as she aged reminded me of the famous poem that begins When I am old I shall wear purple, with a red hat that doesn’t go, and doesn’t suit me.” I disagree with that poem, and the Red Hat Society which celebrates it. Why? I don’t believe in waiting until I get older to wear what I want, and I don’t want to join a group with a regimented dress code in order to express my individuality. It makes no sense to me. When I feel like it I shall wear purple, and a red hat and perhaps a pair of sparkly shoes and shoulder-length gloves. It will depend on my mood, and that changes. Today I’m feeling black and white, with a black fedora. Life is good.

Your assignment, should you choose to accept it:

178. What do you feel like wearing today? Wear it, whatever your age is. It doesn’t have to be a bright color, either. If you revel in earth tones, flaunt your browns and greens. Dress to please yourself, because you’ll be keeping you company all day.

One thought on “The muse on Metro

  1. But remember the end of the poem?

    “But maybe I ought to practice a little now?
    So people who know me are not too shocked and surprised
    When suddenly I am old, and start to wear purple.”

    Seems like the same conclusion to me – going purple today, baby… 🙂

I'd love to hear what you have to say.

