Gosh golly gee whiz

This weekend I went to a pancake breakfast at the Swedish Cultural Center. I thoroughly enjoyed it, and not just because of the pancakes. The gregarious gentleman at the door said they often get about 900 people to attend these monthly feasts, and the room had dozens of round tables full of friends and families. A band at the front played folk music, and I learned that traditional Swedish folk music always features an accordion. This surprised me, although I don’t know why. I’d never before thought about what Swedish folk music might be like, but somehow an accordion seemed out of place. Little did I know.

While I ate my pancakes with their tart lingonberry topping, I surveyed the room. Some people looked like they had come from church. Little girls were dressed to the nines, and there were many multi-generational tables. Friends lingered over coffee. It was very relaxing.

I love living in a city, but sometimes it can be a bit stressful. You have to be careful, and in Seattle there are always panhandlers and others who want to tell you a story and convince you to give your money. Other workers hustle for their own good causes on street corners, while a random stranger will sometimes start screaming at people on the bus, frustrated in his own skin and not knowing how to cope. You have to keep an eye on your pocketbook so that it won’t wander away of its own accord. In an atmosphere such as this, there’s something incredibly refreshing about going to a place where people are having a wholesome good time. Handmade crafts were for sale, and people appeared to be on their best behavior. Everyone was polite and friendly.

Since my family lives far away, and I don’t have children of my own, I don’t get very many opportunities for this sort of fun. I cherish them when they occur. I think it’s one of the reason I enjoy square dancing so much. Sometimes you don’t know what you’re missing until you find it. They hold the pancake breakfast once a month and I’ll probably go back again. Besides, the pancakes were really tasty, and the coffee was good, too.

Your assignment, should you choose to accept it:

189. Where can you go to have a wholesome good time? Take an outing to somewhere where the language is PG, and the fun can be enjoyed by all ages. Is there any difference between this experience and your daily life? How did it make you feel?

I'd love to hear what you have to say.

