Act now

Yesterday I started the day feeling very stressed, so I decided I needed to take a mini-vacation. Since I had no set obligations for the day, I decided to let go of things I could do later, like the blog and some housework. Then I set about having a fun-filled time without spending oodles of money.

I started the morning with a leisurely pot of tea before venturing out. The weather was just perfect—crisp enough to make everything feel fresh, but otherwise warm and sunny. The air was full of the maple-syrup decaying sugar scent of fall. I even detected some wood smoke.

First I went to Sephora, and gave myself a mini-makeover. Sephora is a chain cosmetics shop, and the whole place is set up as a sampling extravaganza. I ended up with pinky-peach cheeks, raspberry-burst lips with a mango glaze, and Sunrise eyes. My fragrance of the morning was Yves Saint Laurent for Men, clean and crisp as the fall itself. The trendy sales woman who gave me the sample kept calling it YSL. I guess the acronym is supposed to make it smell even better. I had lots of fun putting on my new paint, and I didn’t spend a dime. I buy certain essentials at Sephora, so I never feel bad about an occasional sample day, and the store encourages it.

I wanted to go somewhere, so I decided to take a ferry to Bremerton. I love taking ferry rides. The ride is fairly inexpensive, because plenty of people in Seattle commute to and from work on the boats. If you go to Bremerton instead of Bainbridge Island, you get twice as long a ride for the same cost and I find some of the scenery even prettier. Once on the ferry I relaxed with a cup of smoked Japanese tea that I had bought in the terminal. Out on the water the air was full of the amazing salty smell that arises from the ocean. I find the scent very calming, and I watched the seagulls as they accompanied our boat to its destination. Once there, I had an ice cream cone before the trip back.

I spent the rest of the day at home, reading and putting my feet up. By the time I went to bed, I felt completely restored. Ah, vacation.

Your assignment, should you choose to accept it:

195. When was the last time you took the day off completely? Isn’t it time for some sort of vacation? Take one today, or pencil it in at the soonest possible time.

3 thoughts on “Act now

  1. Good for you. Lets plan a mini-vacation to Vashon when I get back from Nashville. They really help and get the creative juices flowing.

I'd love to hear what you have to say.

