Pick yourself up, dust yourself off

I’ve been hard at work today transferring my individual blog entries into Mircrosoft Word files. I want to have a back-up copy, and I also want to be able to organize my daily posts for later writing projects. This effort has reminded me of the value of trying to start this sort of effort early.

My wonderful blog host, WordPress, has a back-up function, but as far as I can tell it won’t do what I want it to. This means that I have to open each post up in my blog editor and copy them one at a time. I’ve been at the project for hours and hours already, and I am finally halfway to completion. From this time forward, I’m going to save them daily into my own file. I just never thought about it before, and when I did, I thought I could just copy a whole bunch at once off the web. Au contraire.

I’ve learned a lot already from this blog. I pay closer attention to the world around me, looking for things to write about. I’ve gained practice as a writer, and the confidence to produce essays on a regular basis, with or without the help of the Muse. I’m also learning a lot about technology, about the great things it can do and the regrettable things it can’t. As I learn, I’m facing and expanding my own technological limits. I know the challenges are good for me, even as I sometimes want to shake my fist at the sky in a fit of helplessness.

This is, however, how lessons are learned. I learn by doing things the roundabout way, and I try to make things more efficient the next time. Meanwhile I’m slogging ahead and copying, copying, copying. Remembering that it doesn’t all have to be done today, I’m going to make another start on it tomorrow. I’ve been sitting in this chair for about four hours and I need to move about the universe before I freeze this way. It probably wouldn’t happen, but then again, I don’t want to tempt fate.

Your assignment, should you choose to accept it:

196. Next time you’re frustrated because you realized you could have done something a better way, rejoice in your discovery instead of wallowing in your misery. Get the worst over with, and reward yourself with a small indulgence.

One thought on “Pick yourself up, dust yourself off

I'd love to hear what you have to say.

