Ding dong the damsel’s dead

I killed another techno-damsel today and I couldn’t be more pleased. I’m sitting here at my computer, mentally dancing on her grave. If you read this blog regularly, you know how much I love to dance.

I finally figured out how to get a web badge into my sidebar, courtesy of a helpful article forwarded on by the helpful people at WordPress. If you need to figure it out, too, search for info on inserting an image into a sidebar (or comment on the blog and I’ll send you the link).

There was a time when I would have just let the issue drop, figuring that I could live without a web badge or that I could get someone else to help me do it. I like being able to learn these things myself. Don’t get me wrong—I don’t intend to become a computer expert, but I figure that a person should be able to do the small things for herself. I can fix a flat tire, I can assemble furniture, and now I can insert a web badge into my blog any time I want to. That’s good to know, because sometime during the month of November I intend to insert another badge showing that I have succeeded at the National Novel Writing Month challenge. Who knew that the first challenge would start before November and would have nothing to do with plot, pacing, or word selection? According to the rules, we are allowed to work on character development before the month begins, and I think I just added a little bit of polish to my own. It just goes to show that challenges often provide more benefits than the ones you expect.

Your assignment, should you choose to accept it:

198. The next time you face a technical challenge, try to figure it out using your own resources. These may include reference manuals, online help, or an e-mail to a helpful support person. If you succeed, dance on the techno-damsel’s grave. She didn’t need a knight-in-shining armor after all.

One thought on “Ding dong the damsel’s dead

I'd love to hear what you have to say.

