Preparing for the challenge

Today is Wednesday, and I’m in countdown mode for NaNoWriMo. I believe I’ve mentioned it before, but in case you missed it, NaNoWriMo is National Novel Writing Month. It’s a writing challenge, a dare, a collective push by thousands of people all over the world to each write 50,000 word novels during the month of November. I’m going to do it, and I’m doing it in one of the recommended ways, which is to not plan very much about what the novel is going to be, and just to write it. That plan worked for my first novel, so I think I’ll go with it again.

The blog will be a little different for the few days leading up to November and during the month. I’m going to focus my writing energies into getting the book done, so the blog will still be here, and will be posted every time I have access to wi-fi, but it won’t be as structured as I usually make it. I’m planning on mainly giving you a report from the trenches—one writer’s daily diary into the experience. I’ll include my daily and mounting word count, too, so you can see how far I’ve gotten. I’ve never done this before, so I’m not sure what will happen, but I plan to finish it in the month. I know I can do it.

See you tomorrow!

I'd love to hear what you have to say.

