Starting the insanity

Well, I’ve actually gone and done it. I started out on the insane novel writing project, and yesterday I wrote 2876 words, even though I don’t have much of an idea of a plot yet, and I had other commitments.

I feel good about the process so far, because I know I can do it. I do wonder how I’m going to get to the end, but I know I’ll find my way. I’ve also got some writing totems to support myself. This is a suggestion from the guide book, but it’s something I’ve been doing for years. Through the writing process I’m wearing the class ring I bought to show myself that I could survive difficult projects—my Master’s thesis was a big challenge, but I survived it and triumphed. I’ll succeed here, too. The ring reminds me. Besides, it’s sparkly.

I’m also wearing a charm necklace I started a while back, and I’d highly recommend that you start your own. My charm necklace is a collection of charms that people have given me to show that they believe in me as a writer. Writing can be very solitary, so it helps to look down and see that I am not alone in my efforts. I don’t specify to people what the charms should be, and they don’t have to be expensive. One of my favorite is a small rock that someone gave me from his driveway. I wrapped wire around it to hang it on the necklace. In this case, it truly is the thought that counts, and I find that charm incredibly charming.

Well, I best be off to work on the novel. I’ve got a bunch of words to write before the day is over.

See you tomorrow, or perhaps even later today with an updated word count. It depends on my wi-fi.

I'd love to hear what you have to say.

