Riding my train of thought

The novel continues to barrel along, although sometimes it doesn’t seem to make much sense. I expect that’s to be expected in this headlong rush sort of writing we’re all doing for NaNoWriMo, especially when we haven’t plotted ahead.

I haven’t plotted ahead. That’s okay, though, as the muses keep handing me things. I’m sure I’ll have to do some rewriting and rearranging at the end of the month, but I feel by the end of it I’ll have all the couches, armchairs, and throw rugs I need. I’ll just need to move things around to create a book. Yes, I’m being silly, but I think you can follow my drift. Writing can warp your brain a little, and I’ve just got done attending a meeting at a local coffee shop with others doing the challenge. It was fun to meet them, and to all sit working together. It adds to the energy.

Last night after my square dance I typed everything into the computer, and yesterday I finished with a word count of 21,781 words. That’s a net gain of only 1,654 words, but I was really tired last night. Today I’ve reached 25,008 words-I’ve passed the halfway mark-with a net gain of 3,227 words. I’m sure the group energy helped me to push my limits.

Now I’m off to watch movies with my friend. We do this most Sundays, and I really look forward to it. There’s a pile of laundry screaming out my name in its most dirty and wrinkly voice, but I’m going to ignore it until tomorrow. After all, it’s the weekend, and I’ve done enough for now.

See you tomorrow!

One thought on “Riding my train of thought

I'd love to hear what you have to say.

