Post-game analysis

I’ve finally crossed that line. Here’s my last NaNoWriMo post for quite some time. I’m definitely going back to blog topics as usual tomorrow. I certified my win today, and got my new winner badge. Since my techno-damsel side is still whimpering in the corner from earlier battles, she did not get up to fight me. I got the new badge posted quickly. She may not recover from my string of technical triumphs.

I’m glad I took on this challenge. It proved to me that I can write fiction on command, and that my muses will provide for me if I keep my butt in a chair and face the demons of the blank page. That is a valuable lesson. I also enjoyed the community spirit of the whole thing. Seattle is still beating every other region doing this, and that includes international ones. We have a higher word count than lots of small countries in Europe, and we’re beating higher population centers as well. We are far ahead of New York City, currently in 7th place, and our rivals to the south, Portland. Portland is in ninth place. I feel proud of my adopted home.

I plan to keep on challenging myself, and I’ll probably use the buddy system to enforce my goals. I wrote my first whole novel as homework for some friends of mine. I call them the Evil Homework Twins. I think I may enlist one of the twins for a daily poetry assignment in the near future. I truly believe I can rise to the challenges I set for myself. That belief helps me to succeed. I approach these things with a good attitude, and that helps no matter what the task is that approaches.

Since I’m going back to my usual format, I’ll give you some homework, too.

Your assignment, should you choose to accept it:

199. Set yourself a challenge today. Make your goal something a little bit harder than you would normally attempt. Then tell a friend, enlist support and just do it!

2 thoughts on “Post-game analysis

  1. Congratulations! Great job with the writing. I think it’s great that NaNoWriMo has given you so much in regards to motivation and perseverence. Good luck in your next writing projects and hope to see you next year.

I'd love to hear what you have to say.

