Snip snip

The other day I set myself free. It was a pretty easy procedure, really. All I did was to get my hair cut.

It was lovely before, a shoulder-length cut that flattered my face, and lots of people urged me to keep it. I’ve had my hair short for years, and have recently been conducting an experiment in long hair. I wanted to do something different, just to see how it was going to go. As I said, it looked nice, but it simply wasn’t me. The style required a blow dryer and oh, how I hate blow dryers! It also seemed too formal and traditional somehow. I am neither formal nor traditional.

I got it cut into a messy bob that looks good even when I get sweaty. This is important, because I frequently get sweaty when I go dancing. This hairstyle fits my lifestyle, and it truly feels like it fits my personality. I’m ecstatic.

It amazes me how simple changes can sometimes make a big difference. I also tend to forget that I can choose to abandon something that is working simply because it is not the most joyful choice I can make. I decided to go for a more joyful haircut, and I couldn’t be more pleased. Unlike Samson, I find my strength in short hair instead of long locks. Each person is different, and I need to remind myself often to work with my own needs to create the best energy possible. I also need to remember to trust my intuition more. I’ve known for at least six months that I desperately wanted to cut my hair. I could have had all this joy that much sooner. It was under my control, and I simply didn’t reach out for what I wanted.

Why did I do that? I think that I trusted the advice of others over the inner voice inside that knew what was best for me. Although advice is a precious resource that helps me to make wise choices, I need to remember to trust my own inner counsel, too. By the way, I’m packing away my blow dryer.

Your assignment, should you choose to accept it:

204. Does your haircut make you happy? If not, trust your intuition and get what you really want. If your haircut works, consider other areas of your life. Is there something that is going fine that just doesn’t suit you the way it should? Make changes as soon as possible and gush to someone else about the joy you have created for yourself.

I'd love to hear what you have to say.

