Start singing

Spring is starting to show its flowery face in Seattle, and all kinds of lovely things are beginning to reach out of the soil. The rains have started again, and everything is full of a sense of renewed possibility. I’m feeling it in my personal life, too. Life is good.

I’ve also just joined a gym, and muscles I haven’t used in a while are starting to wake up. They’re being a little bit cranky with me, but I can’t blame them. When was the last time I called on my triceps to do anything special? I do a lot of dancing, but the biceps don’t get a lot of play there, so things are a bit sore. I’m choosing to see it as a sign of progress.

I ended up having a very intriguing experience at the gym yesterday. I usually walk for about twenty minutes to warm up my muscles, and then I get off the treadmill and lift weights. Yesterday, I was listening to music as I walked, and I was having so much fun walking that I just didn’t want to stop. I decided to go with the flow and walked for an extra half an hour before going on to the rest of the workout. This was really fun, because this kind of spontaneous joy happens to me all the time when I dance but I didn’t expect to see it at the gym.

Sometimes I think I get in my own way by having the wrong sorts of expectations. This was a good reminder to me to experience things and enjoy whatever happens, rather than expecting things to be a certain way. If I’d expected to have a bad time, I would have. I see the same thing in the dancing classes I take. One of my friends has decided that he is going to have trouble figuring everything out. Of course, he always has trouble. When I tell him what a great job he’s doing, he invariably does better until he goes back to expecting trouble. I learn a little more quickly than he does, but not because I’m a better dancer. I simply realize that I might not learn everything immediately, and know that I’m going to keep at it until I do. My muscles will not become strong overnight, and the daffodils will not spring instantly out of the soil, but all things beneficial are worth waiting for. Spring is underway, and it’s time to celebrate that.

Your assignment, should you choose to accept it:

219. The next time you have a big project to accomplish, try to leave your negative assumptions behind you. It’ll be so much easier without your mind dragging you down.

One thought on “Start singing

I'd love to hear what you have to say.

