Finding the moments

I’ve started writing a daily haiku. It’s one of my commitments this year, and it wasn’t done for any specific reason, beyond the fact that my friend was doing it and I decided to accept the challenge. I passed it on so there are three of us. So far I’ve met my commitment and written a haiku every day, sometimes more. It’s been really good for me. Not only does the process allow me to work on writing for myself (as opposed to the paid work I do) but it also helps with my mindfulness. When I go out on my walks now, I am searching for my haiku. Travelling around, I look for them on bus seats and park benches. I found today’s in the middle of an exhausted fog–it was sitting right there, staring at me.

As a Zen girl, I believe in mindfulness. It’s good to look around you and be where you are. There are so many things you can miss if you are staring at a screen, making to-do lists in your head or all of the other myriad distractions of modern life. You might miss the wonders of the universe–so many little moments that can make or break a day. In rural areas you might miss the beauties of nature, and in more urban areas you might miss what I like to call our “urban wildlife.” This is not a good thing to do, because sometimes the urban wildlife is hostile. You need to be aware of your surroundings to keep yourself safe.

This isn’t to say that cities aren’t full of birds and other critters. One of my favorite sights is watching pigeons eating french fries. We have a burger joint on the hill that’s more like a drive-in, and people either eat in their cars or stand around in clumps consuming their deep-fried goodies. Pigeons and seagulls are happy to help with whatever is left.

I don’t want to miss out on these impromptu little goodies that nature provides me. I’m also really enjoying the haikus that my friends are writing. It’s good to get a glimpse into their daily lives, especially as these are friends that live too far away. Haiku brings them closer. That’s a lot of benefits for seventeen syllables.

Your assignment, should you choose to accept it:

224. Go out looking for a haiku. When you find it, write it down. The standard format is three lines, with the first line being five syllables, the second seven syllables, and the final line five syllables. If you need examples, check out the links. If you are so inspired, I’d love to see your examples in the comments.

Links, should you desire them: 

My haiku blog is called Haiku Plate Special, and you can find it here:
http://haikuplatespecial.wordpress.com/

My friend Gabrielle’s haiku blog is called Balsamic Pearls, and you can find it here:
http://balsamicpearls.blogspot.com/

Our other friend isn’t publishing his online, so I can’t share those, but they are as fabulous as he is.

 

I'd love to hear what you have to say.

