Following the breath

I have so much I want to share this week, and so little energy to share it. The world is in bloom here in Seattle, and the gardens are full of flowers. Fragrant blossoms line the streets, and everything is the emerald green which gives our city its nickname. The birds are enjoying the weather, and I have been enjoying watching them. This week I admired a nest of starlings on one of my walks, sighted among the vines covering an old marquee. I also observed a dazzling white pigeon with grey spots performing his mating dance–spinning around, puffing out his chest, and fanning his tail feathers to try to seduce the ladies. They were not impressed. The goslings down by Lake Union are going through an awkward stage as their feathers go from fluffy baby down to adult sleekness. Soon they’ll look just like their parents.

While I’ve been enjoying the birds and blossoms, I’ve also been having lots of allergies, and something has kicked my asthma into high gear. It’s hard to breathe right now, and thus hard to be inspired. The very definition of “inspiration” is about breathing. This too shall pass, and I’m sure I’ll be feeling better soon.

My current distress reminds me how important my lungs are to me, how often I take them for granted when I’m feeling fine. I always appreciate my health more after a cold, newly aware of how great it feels not to be sick. I appreciate my knees more now that I have lost a lot of weight and no longer eat sugar–I can take stairs without hobbling, and that is a gift I have not forgotten. It no longer hurts just to walk down the street. I have much to be grateful for even as I am not feeling my best. It is good to have these moments of contrast to highlight the many wonderful aspects of my life. My vision is clear, and my fingers are nimble as I type these words. My bed is soft, and I had a nice dinner with a dear friend. Soon I will be feeling better, and I will appreciate the opportunity to breathe deeply once more. What more could I ask for?

Your assignment, should you choose to accept it:
245. Take a moment to appreciate some of the things in your life that you may be taking for granted. Take a second moment to appreciate all the people who make your life the wonder that it is. If you can, take a few deep breaths, and be inspired by the magic of your lungs.

One thought on “Following the breath

  1. Update on 17 June 2013–thanks to the miracle of steroid inhalers, I’m able to breathe a bit easier today. Still recovering from my breathless state!

I'd love to hear what you have to say.

