The chirp that refreshes

It’s summer in Seattle, so birds are even more than usual out and about and making their noises. I’ve been watching the crows because the crows have been watching me. They have been yelling at me as I walk one of my usual routes, moving from line to tree so that they can continue to shout at me as I stroll down the street. There must be babies nearby, and they are just making sure I mean them no harm. I don’t. I also noticed the one that often sits outside my window. He makes a sound very like a woodpecker–I am fascinated by his clicking.

On another path I heard a sweet cheeping. Stopping and listening, I finally located a small nest of starlings perched in a vine arbor on the side of a local building. They were small and sweet and I left them alone, but I was happy to have had the experience.

Later that day I was waiting for a bus and saw a male pigeon strutting his stuff to impress the ladies. He puffed out his chest and walked in circles. He fanned his tail feathers. The female pigeons were not at all impressed. I also saw a pigeon with an egg stuck to its underside up on the telephone wire. Apparently sometimes the eggs break and the sticky insides glue the egg to the birds. Poor thing! I wish I could have reached up to help.

I cannot tell you all about birds and their life cycles or recite all of their scientific names. I cannot identify all of their calls, but I have learned a lot by just watching them as they go about their daily lives. Birds remind me to look up and around me. There is a lot going on in the world that has nothing to do with people, and it’s fun to be a part of that. When I hear one of their calls I try to stand still and see if I can spy the bird that made the sound. Birds bring me back to the moment, to the here and now away from electronic screens and in the present. I take a deep breath and thank them.

Your assignment, should you choose to accept it:
249. Be aware of the birds as you go about your daily business. What kinds of birdsong do you hear? What sorts of birds do you see? What times of the day do they make the most noise?

2 thoughts on “The chirp that refreshes

  1. Impressive observational skills. 🙂

    If it isn’t for the vehicles that pass by the busy street where I live in, the few birds pecking on my window sills are the first thing that I wake up to every morning. Their chirping and pecking sounds are too distinct to ignore, it’s even more effective than an alarm clock. Haha!

    • Yes, they can be really loud! I am a night owl and often have a very flexible schedule so I have noticed that around me a lot of the birds start waking up and singing at 3:30 a.m. when it’s still dark. If I’m still awake or just in bed I notice that it’s quite a clamor. As far as observation, the more I observe, the more I realize that I am not observant of so much! That’s one of the many reasons I assume that they call Zen a “practice”. Practice, practice, practice!

I'd love to hear what you have to say.

