New perspectives

It’s been hot and sunny all week in Seattle, and those of us with allergies have been a bit of a cranky lot. Sinus headaches do not pair well with stifling heat (or with anything, really). While there are some here who enjoy high temperatures and bright sun, many of us move here to enjoy the damp grey beauty of the place.

I have this new allergy app on my phone and I like it because I can look to see what the levels are for various allergens in my city. Since I’ve been feeling awful this week and the levels were very high for “dust and dander”, I now know that’s something my body doesn’t really care for. It’s a helpful diagnostic tool.

I can’t do much about the city of Seattle, but I’ve spent the weekend vacuuming up extra dust from my apartment. I know my lungs will thank me. I’ve also been rearranging my furniture and moving other things around. It’s nice to get a new perspective on things. I always feel cheered when I move things about a bit.  It’s cheaper than retail therapy and often even more beneficial.

I also decided to indulge myself by doing a fun little project. I have a lot of books. I love them, but I’m sometimes distressed by the visual clutter they can represent, even on a bookcase. I’ve been toying with the idea of arranging them by color to cut down on the clutter, and today I rearranged the cookbooks and all the books in one room. I don’t have so many that it will make it really hard to find what I need, and just looking at them now feels very calming. It may seem odd to other people, but I figure I have to live here, so I should pick a system that works for me. Besides, I look at them often as a whole and only need to find particular volumes a few times a day. I couldn’t be more excited by the change.

Home is a work in progress and I’m going to keep adapting it to be the best sanctuary it can be. Small changes at home can make big changes in my mood. Here’s hoping for a cool and restful week. I’ve done my part.

Your assignment, should you choose to accept it:
252. How might you change the energy of your home? How long has it been since you’ve rearranged the furniture or put up new artwork? Perhaps it’s time to see things from a new perspective.

5 thoughts on “New perspectives

    • I’d probably choke…. My apartment isn’t very big, so my living room/dining room/ & bedroom are all in the same room (the other main room is my home office). I sometimes do cheat and eat sitting at the couch.

  1. Hey there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay. I’m definitely enjoying
    your blog and look forward to new posts.

    • Hey Jorge, I appreciate that! I haven’t started yet but have been recently convinced that I should, so I’ll be setting that up shortly. I’ll send you an email and respond again here as soon as that’s done. I’m glad you’re enjoying my posts!

    • Hi, I just joined Twitter about five minutes ago. @CathyTenzo and hooked it up so that all of my posts (on my different blogs) will all go to there. I’ve also set up a public Facebook page for Cathy Tenzo writer. Thanks!

I'd love to hear what you have to say.

