It’s time for an outing

You there, reading the blog–welcome, I’m pleased to see you. How long have you been sitting at the computer? How long has it been since you’ve been outside? Perhaps it’s time for an outing.

You may not be able to afford something fancy, but it doesn’t have to be much. Go outside and take a deep lungful of the crisp fall air. Breathe in the scent of decaying leaves, pines, and the smell of wood smoke. Take a walk around the block.

If you’ve got time, consider going further afield. Have coffee in a new locale far across town. Wonder whether the fellow with the parrot on his shoulder is a regular or you are perhaps seeing things. You probably do need a little more sleep. I don’t know many who don’t.

If you need a little trip, consider a long bus ride. In Seattle I am spoiled–for very little I can take a ferry across the sound or take a long trip on the light rail down to the airport. I find trains incredibly soothing, and I enjoy the scenery as it passes by.

If you’re a bit more flush, get out of town for a day or two. A fresh perspective can make everything around you seem bright and shiny for weeks to come.

I often work from home, and sometimes I forget these simple truths–I need to leave the house at least once a day. I need to get up from the computer at least once an hour. I deserve a few lungfuls of fresh fall air. So do you, dear reader, so do you.

Your assignment, should you choose to accept it:
266. Stand up and stretch. Leave the house and go exploring for a bit. Breathe deep. How was it for you?

2 thoughts on “It’s time for an outing

I'd love to hear what you have to say.

